Kiis 102.7 Jingle Ball

IMG_7303

imagesStaples Center, Jingle Ball

When I found out Jingle Ball in Los Angeles was two stops away on the metro and One Direction an incredible mix of people were performing I knew I had to go. Of course I tried the whole call-the-radio-station-every-day-trying-to-win-free-tickets thing and failed (except I was caller 82 once!!), so I ended up with StubHub tickets which got me two seats in the very last row of the entire theater.IMG_7234

5SOS opened up the show and did not disappoint. The minute Michael began the opening riff of Amnesia I flashed back to the last time I saw them live. They sang a few old songs and a few off their new album, and overall they were a great start to the show.  12342339_960951477311329_9105859402304023521_n

In all honesty, I was there to see One Direction (which really shouldn’t surprise you at this point). The Kiis 102.7 crew made it very clear throughout the night that this was One Direction’s last performance in the US before their two year break *cue the tears* *yes, real tears* *ask Brooke*. The 23 minute set was perfect – and yes they sang “Perfect”. I was most excited about hearing their new songs live. I’ve heard “What Makes You Beautiful” live about 9 times now, so while it still strums on my heart strings the real feels came when they sang “History”, “Drag Me Down” and “Infinity”. It was one of my favorite One Direction concerts yet, and I’m not sure if it’s because it was in such a big arena and everyone was singing along or because it was a huge milestone in their careers. Regardless it was #WorthIt. 12294617_960951470644663_8100212345225230794_n

Other performers included Shawn Mendes, who brought out special guest Camila Cabello, Hailee Steinfeld, Zedd, Selena Gomez and DNCE. I was pleasantly surprised by Hailee Steinfeld and Zedd’s performances. I was not expecting much from Zedd but his set was a mix of his own songs and live mixing of other top 40 hits. His set was the most fun I’ve had at a concert in a long time, and that’s saying something. Hailee Steinfeld only sang two songs but she is an incredibly talented singer. I was impressed. DNCE was absolutely wild, which I was expecting. Joe Jonas ran through the crowd for the entirety of a song and I have never seen a performer jump up and down more than his guitarist did.

12321133_960951523977991_3539651028038590066_n

Overall, Jingle Ball was Unknown. Next winter I highly recommend going to the nearest Jingle Ball to you. The concerts are exhausting (it was like 4 hours long!!) but you get to see so many incredible acts in one night and it’s super fun– right Brooke!?!

Peace n Blessings

Meg

4 comments

Thoughts? Spill here.

