Made In The A.M.

If the fact that I am still obsessed with One Direction is a surprise to you, do you even know me? No. The answer to that is no. Made In The A.M. came out today and of course I’ve been listening to it all day, so here’s the low down on every song on the Deluxe album.

madeintheam

“Hey Angel” – A good opener for the album – it’s kind of trance-y, like there’s a lot of oOoooOoOo’s and big harmonies and a slow drum beat in the background, but the lyrics are a bit too repetitive for my liking. 6.5/10.

“Drag Me Down” / “Perfect” – If you haven’t heard these songs where have you been. They’re both more mature from their past songs and have different (good) vibes. 7.5/10 / 8.5/10. 

“Perfect” – Again, if you haven’t heard this song where have you been. It’s more mature and definitely not geared towards the 13 year old crowd their previous albums have been marketed to. Good stuff. 8.5/10.

“Infinity” – Like “Hey Angel”, this song is trance-like until you get to the chorus, which is more raw. It’s quite a sad song but I really like it. Favorite lyric: “How many nights does it take to count the stars? / That’s the time it would take to fix my heart”. 8/10.

“End Of The Day” – I absolutely love the opening of this song, but the chorus is too different beat wise and lyric wise from the other verses that it bothers me quite a bit. Favorite lyric: “I told her that I loved her, was not sure if she heard / The roof was pretty windy and she didn’t say a word”. Also “Just me, her and the moon”. 6.5/10. 

“If I Could Fly” – This one made me cry. It may have been the late hour at which I first heard it, or maybe the strings, or the harmonies, or the lyrics, or the speed, or everything. Favorite lyric: “Pay attention, I hope that you listen cause I let my guard down”. 10/10.

“Long Way Down” – Also super obsessed with this one. The lyrics are incredible and very creative, and it’s paired with raspy Harry and acoustic guitar and I love it. Favorite lyric: “We found an island / But we got stranded”. 9.8/10.

“Never Enough” – This song starts off sounding like a cappella and I love it. It also weirdly makes me think of people in a rainforest, living a tribal life of some kind … i don’t know, just listen. 9/10.

“Olivia” Unbelievably catchy (even Brooke says so!!!) and it reminds me of Take Me Home One Direction (tbt to “Rock Me”). Also a great shower/elevator song, just ask the people on my floor… 10/10.

“What A Feeling” – Lots of harmonies and the beat is (surprise!) catchy. 8/10.

“Love You Goodbye” – Seriously so heartfelt – a really sad breakup ballad and it strums on my heart strings. 9.5/10.

“I Want To Write You A Song” – The only word I can think of to describe this is cute – it reminds me of something a high school boyfriend would write his girlfriend, cute guitar plucking and everything. Gotta love it. 9.5/10.

“History” – Hands down my favorite song – I’m a sucker for clapping in unison. Favorite lyric: “No they don’t teach you this in school / Now my hearts breaking and I don’t know what to do“. Overall the lyrics are a bit repetitive, which is why it’s a 9.9999/10. 

“Temporary Fix” – Definitely a more mature song (and definitely not for teeny bopper fans). Reminds me of a 90’s band and I love it. 9/10. 

“Walking In The Wind” – One of my favorites – it has incredible lyrics and a guitar riff that will forever be stuck in my head. It’s incredibly heartbreaking, though. Favorite lyric: “If you’re lost, just look for me / You’ll find me in the region of the summer stars”. 10/10.

“Wolves” – This song has these wolf-ish sounding OooOOoOoO’s but it’s tasteful and not totally overwhelming and there are also a lot of harmonies and it’s just great. 8.5/10.

“A.M.” – FIRST THINGS FIRST – THEY CURSE IN THIS SONG! I was honestly shocked when I heard this for the first time, but I feel like this song really sums up this album for the boys. They are turning a new leaf – one without Zayn, with a new audience in mind, and new and raw life experiences – and I really like it. It’s completely and utterly raw, and this song is absolutely beautiful. Favorite lyric: “We’re just swimming round in our glasses / And talking out of our asses / Like we’re all gonna make it (yeah, yeah)“. So! Grown! Up! 10/10.

Peace n Fangirl Blessings

Meg

3 comments

Thoughts? Spill here.

