California Donuts

donut-3donut-6donut-5donut-8

Top: Brandy Melville via Poshmark | Shorts: Threadsence | Sandals: Marshalls | Bag: Urban Outfitters via Poshmark

(photography by Brooke Helstrom)

imagesCalifornia Donuts, Koreatown, LA

I have never been a doughnut kind of girl. To be honest, the sugar goes right to my head and I either get super hyped up or fall right asleep with a pounding headache. But in the midst of midterms week when my roommate suggested taking a trip to Koreatown for famous California Donuts, I couldn’t resist. I ended up buying three: green tea, froot loop and toasted coconut (which was by far the best). We thought California Donuts would be a cute little café type thing but it was literally a window full of doughnuts in a tiny strip mall. We ventured across the street to a boba place and filled ourselves with even more sugar. I thought it was a common thing to stack doughnuts on top of iced coffee so I just replaced the coffee with a boba drink sin boba. From the comments on my instagram, apparently this is a new thing for people. Revolutionary!! So next time you grab doughnuts, throw them on top of anything with a straw. It’s 10/10 better together.

Over the course of midterms week, I became a Californian. On this day it was close to 85 degrees and I was sporting the least amount of clothing possible, trying desperately to stay cool. Flowy shorts and a halter top did the trick. By the end of the week, it was 80 degrees and I was wearing sweatpants with a flannel and I had an urge to drink hot tea. Insane, I know. It got down in the 70’s towards the middle of last week and I was shivering outside wrapped in a rubber duck fleece blanket c/o my big. Am I even an East coaster anymore?

Tunes

I’m on a Galantis kick and have recently acquired an appreciation electronic music. For as long as I can remember I’ve hated bass drops and techno beats, but, again, midterms week changed me. I needed pump-up music, and Galantis did the job and did it well. Check out “Smile” by Galantis – a feel good, pump-up, get-your-studying-done song (and also perfect for late night dorm room dance parties.

Peace n Blessings

Meg

7 comments

Thoughts? Spill here.

