Ath-Leisure In Twenty FIT-teen

IMG_5693IMG_5765  IMG_5704 IMG_5698IMG_5759

Leggings: MPG | Sweater: Ann Taylor | Shoes: c/o Wet Seal | Bracelet: Lokai

(photography by Kathryn McSherry)

2015 has already gained the title of twenty fit-teen. The first two weeks of January have been filled with diet adds on television and folks running to the gym with fitness epiphanies. This does not surprise me one bit; it happens every year. But unlike other years, athletic wear has been infiltrating the fashion scene. This fad “lifestyle” has been dubbed ath-leisure wear. Basically, it’s workout-esque clothing you put on, paired with a cardigan or something leisurely, to look like you’ve just left the gym. I’m not sure how I feel about this whole “let’s pretend we’ve worked out” idea, but designers sure are loving it. Nothing sums up the trend better than the Alexander Wang x H&M collaboration; the mix of spandexes, sweatshirts and mesh was just genius. With Elie Tahari announcing the upcoming release of his own ath-leisure collection and other companies specializing in updated athletic wear, I take back my “this will be a one time thing” prediction from when the AWxHM collab was released.

Not going to lie, I’ve been wearing this all day. It’s comfortable and warm (unlike my last post where I basically got frostbite). And if I really wanted to, I could take off this sweater and workout. I completely understand the mix of athletic clothes and leisure clothes, but I’m not sure it’s a good fit for me. Coming from someone who mixes leisure and fitness more like 75% leisure and 25% fitness (as opposed to 50/50 like ath-leisure calls for), it doesn’t quite make sense for me to lounge around in fitness gear. The idea is great, but I don’t think I’ll be sporting it again anytime soon…. get it? SPORTing it?

Peace n Blessings

Meg

instagram // twitter // pinterest // facebook // bloglovin

Thoughts? Spill here.

