‘Twas The Night Before Christmas: My Edition

Blogmas: Day 4

Why is it that Christmas sneaks up on me every year? As a girl who wears santa socks over the summer and breaks out the Christmas playlists before Thanksgiving, one would assume that I would feel especially spirited on Christmas Eve… but I don’t. Maybe I look forward to Christmas during school because it means I am close to a earning a break from all of my hard work. Maybe I look forward to the holidays because I get to spend time with my family. Maybe I look forward to Christmas because of the gifts: the gifts I receive, the gifts I give, and even the gifts others give and receive. But why wouldn’t I feel the Christmas spirit if I feel all of these things? That is the question. So I put together a little rendition on ‘Twas The Night Before Christmas attempting (and probably failing) to get to answer. Enjoy xx.

christmas

‘Twas the night before Christmas when all through the world, all the creatures were stirring, all electronics unfurled.

Some stockings were hung by the chimney with care, knowing that plenty of presents soon will be there.

The teens should be nestled all snug in their beds, but they’re watching Netflix and texting instead.

And from their headphones they do not hear a clatter, they do not spring from their beds to see what was the matter.

Their lists grow longer and longer with time, hoping to show it off and say, “look, they’re all mine!”

The magic is lost with our handheld devices, mischief seekers can see every purchase and prices.

When they arise, it is all again exciting, they see the gifts, and oh, what a sighting!

But some are not as fortunate as they, some families’ Christmases are much more grey.

Family, friends, all they have is each other, a gift in itself, but not any other.

So why is it that some folks are often happy, with a Christmas some people would call quite “crappy”?

The cheer, that’s it, the cheer they feel, surrounded by happiness, it’s all the more real.

Look at what you’ve got, and not what you’ve not, then your Christmas will feel true, or at least it aught…

So take this night, this grand Christmas Eve, for being truly thankful could be the best reprieve.

I’m sure he’ll still exclaim when he drives out of sight, “Happy Christmas to all, and to all a good night!”

So tuck yourself in, all snug in your bed, and have visions of sugar plums dance in your heads.

Dream away, thank away, cheer away all, for Christmas should be the most merry time of all.

.

Merry Christmas everyone, I hope you’ve enjoyed blogmas!

.

Peace n Blessings

Meg

5 comments

  1. Megan, I LOVED this. ❤️ I don’t usually comment but I just had to on this post.

    As a teen, I feel like the magic and excitement and anticipation of Christmas has kind of been lost. Technology really does take away from great expressions and feelings that humanity has felt in the past, if that makes any sense. I also feel like little kids are the most excited for Christmas and we are used to feeling really excited about the Holidays in the past. But as we get older and we don’t feel *as* excited for Christmas anymore we feel like the magic has been lost completely. Some of our diminished Christmas cheer, besides as a result of technology, also stems from comparisons to how we felt in Christmases past.

    Thank you, thank you, thank you for this blog post. I loved it 💜. Great job Megan.

    1. Thank you very much Charlotte! I completely agree with wht you said about not feeling as excited as we did when we were younger and that sure plays a huge part in the holidays today. I hope you have a wonderful holiday!!

Thoughts? Spill here.

