Makeup by One Direction


Screen Shot 2014-08-18 at 7.00.22 PM

When I found out One Direction was coming out with a makeup line I laughed a little bit. These guys have done everything! Now don’t get me wrong, I’ve been a fan before they released anything across the Atlantic Ocean, but they’ve blown up so much it’s hard to think of them as my little secret anymore. But a makeup line? I did not expect much other than bright makeup embellished with as many 1D logos as space permits. But, being the die-hard fan that I am, I had to try it.

With three makeup sets being released, each one is named after and inspired by each of their albums, Up All Night, Take Me Home and Midnight Memories. I was pleasantly surprised when the first makeup set of the collection arrived at my doorstep. While the Up All Night makeup tin has a removable cover adorned with the boys’ faces, the inside of the tin is face and (basically) logo free. The set includes fun and bright pieces, mirroring the vibe of their first album, which has bubblegum pop and summery songs. There is a lively eye shadow palette, fun stencils to decorate the tin, blue chubby eyeliner, pink lipstick, bright lip-gloss, turquoise shiny nail polish and black mascara. The makeup is packaged nicely, too. There are subtle One Direction logos on each of the products, but from afar you cannot tell, which is nice for non-superfans and general makeup enthusiasts.

IMG_3524

While all of the packaging quickly earned an A from me, I did not expect much of the makeup itself until I tried it. The pigment of the eye shadow and the “Stand Up” eyeliner are surprisingly high quality, and there is a good variety of colors if blues are not your go-to shades (I stuck with the blush pink “More Than This”, the taupe “Gotta Be You” and the lightest shade of blue “Save You Tonight”). The “Little Black Dress” mascara is also unexpectedly high quality. It does not clump at all and it has officially replaced my Benefit mascara. I love the “Na Na Na” nail polish, too; it’s not too thick or thin and it has the perfect amount of shine.

IMG_3525

IMG_3583

I sported my Up All Night look to the One Direction Where We Are tour stop in Nashville! Stay tuned for a concert post and a get ready with me video!

IMG_3604

Go get your hands on your very own Makeup by One Direction set; I can’t wait to try out the rest of them!

Makeup by One Direction US Release Dates:

Macy’s – August 11th

Stage Stores – August 25th

Dillards – August 25th

Beauty Brands – August 25th

Lord and Taylor – August 25th

International dates – TBD

 

This product was given to me for a review, but all opinions are my own.

Peace n Blessings

Megan

One comment

Thoughts? Spill here.

